Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

For security reasons, the people are kept under watch using tracking systems and cameras, which has become debatable issue in the country. In some cases, it is not informed to population about observation by machines. A section of society consider this as required step to embolden the national security; nonetheless, I believe that monitoring is essential for safety but that does not mean that population should be kept ignored about being monitored. Moreover, merits of monitoring tools far-weigh its demerits.

To begin with, the propensity of crimes is increasing in recent times, making it essential for government to install closed circuit television (cctv) and other tracking tools to aid in surveillance. In other words, owing to such systems, the patrolling becomes easy and crime-rates can be reduced. Needless to say, this will pose a threat on wrong-doers, as everything will be captured in film, resulting in their punishment for their act. For instance, the rape cases in Delhi have notoriously decreased after installing cctv camera in the capital. Thus, the benefits of keeping people under observatory machines is definitely helpful to keep the country safe.

On the other side, the critics of having tracking systems argue that it takes away the privacy of the people; meaning no one can move freely due to fear of being watch by cameras. Undoubtedly, people will have to think before walking on road or showing love gestures with their loved ones, knowing about being monitored by tools. Even the cellphone taping is common form of tracking where the voice recordings are being saved; this limits the personal talk with the friends and family. Consequently, such monitoring may be the matter of concern for society.

Although privacy is concern, but to keep the nation safe and secured, the surveillance is indispensable need of contemporary world. Notwithstanding the fact that the tracking and monitoring through cameras and cell-phones are required, it can be said that people should be at least informed that they are under monitoring system because to observe someone without their permission is an equal crime.

To sum up, I pen down saying that tracking systems cannot be refused but at least the public should be informed of their being monitored by the system. Although there are few cons in keeping population under watch but the pros of this system are mandatory.