One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion has been an issue since the invention of automobiles. It can be seen in almost every big city and affects millions of people around the world. The results of this are stress, time loss and damage to the environment.

Several factors are at the root of the traffic problem. The primary reason for this is that more and more people are driving nowadays. To my knowledge, recent studies published in ''Za rulem'' Russian magazine in June 2018 manifestly illustrated that the amount of private cars in Moscow has doubled since 1995. Another reason is the city development. Main roads in Moscow were built during the Soviet era and as a result, they are not enough effective for modern rush hours which can usually be spotted in the mornings and evenings. The last factor is relatively low prices of petroleum. It has been claimed that due to the constant growth of the world population and its wealth if gasoline prices do not rise, soon there will be literally no free of cars zones around the globe.

Just as there is no single factor behind the problem of congestion, there is no single solution. I firmly believe that the solution begins with the implementation of laws which help to lower the number of cars in active use. In Moscow, for instance, rules which were imposed in 2013 and introduced payable parkings, helped to reduce traffic of private autos by 50 per cent in the city centre. In addition, the city government should build more road junctions and new roads which divide the streams of vehicles. The third way is to increase taxes on fuels. It appears that there is a strong correlation between a number of automobiles on the road and prices of petrol. In my experience, when I visited the Ukraine, where fuel prices have risen significantly since the crisis of 2014, I saw that the roads are primarily empty, especially in comparison with Russian big cities.

Having said that, traffic congestion has no easy solution but I do believe that it is not the one that can not be overcome. Implementation of the laws with restrictions is where the process begins. If we do one day solve the problem of traffic, then there is no doubt that big cities like Moscow will be places where not only want people to work, but also where they want to raise their children.