Online communication is preferable to face to face communication Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today’s digital age the importance of face-to-face communication seems to be fading, as one can go almost an entire day without actually interacting with people. People rely heavily on the convenience of emails, text messages, and social media. While it is impossible to deny the importance of these platforms and the way that they have revolutionized communication, it is important to balance these online interactions with face-to-face communication.

One issue with digital forms of communication is that they tend to be impersonal. Moreover, trying to make your digital communications seem more friendly or personalized runs the risk of being misinterpreted or viewed as unprofessional. Miscommunication is one of the major causes of inefficiency and workplace conflicts. Many of these issues can be attributed to digital communications and the various ways they can be interpreted.

Face-to-face communication and in-person meetings can boost efficiency. Instead of spending an entire day e-mailing back and forth, you can hash out all of the details of a project in one go. These meeting can also boost creativity as the overall energy will be higher so you can brainstorm and solve a multitude of problems at one time. Face-to-face communication can also be much more effective for those who may struggle with written communication. Everyone has their own unique set of skills, and some people are much more fluid and clear with verbal communication.

While face-to-face communication is not always an option due to distance or conflicting schedules, it is important that you do not forget about it completely. Whenever possible, take the time to interact with your colleagues face-to-face and enjoy the benefits.