In order to properly learn a foreign language, it is necessary to live in a country where that language is spoken.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It can be said that it is not always completely necessary to learn a language in a country where it is spoken because of the effects of globalisation and the increasing access to resources in other languages, particularly through the internet. However, it can be very useful for people learning a language to live in a country where that language is spoken. I believe it is beneficial because people will use the language regularly and they will have access to a wide range of resources on the language.

Firstly, by living in a country where the language is spoken, the student will have opportunities to practise the language on a daily basis. As opportunities arise in a variety of situations, such as in shopping centres, in restaurants, and in classrooms, the student is able to have meaningful practice of different functions of the language. The full immersion of the student in the language will assist the student in becoming more confident, accurate and fluent.

Moreover, by living in a country where the language is spoken, the student has immediate access to a wide range of resources in that language, including newspapers, television programmes, books, and, of course, native speakers. Having instant access to a wide range of audio and visual resources in the target language, such as newspapers and television programmes, also provides the student with the opportunity to increase their language skills on their own.

On the other hand, with increasing globalisation of technology, it could be that it is no longer as necessary to live in another country in order to learn the language spoken there. The internet, for example, is a rich source of information beneficial to language students. It may be used to access newspapers, music and chat rooms, which allow the student to have meaningful practice in the language.

To sum up, the rapid development of technology has created more opportunities for language learners to learn languages wherever they are in the world. Nevertheless, it is extremely valuable for the learner to learn the language while living in a country where the language is spoken due to regular practice opportunities and the number of available resources.