Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that government should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individual should take responsibility of sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since bygone days, sugar has been favorite of many. It has been known over centuries that over consumption of sugar is injurious to health. Although many consider governing body as responsible authority to limit the sugar usage in country, I believe each person should understand his limit on sugar consumption.

The administrative department can take strict actions in betterment of its citizens by increasing the price on sugary items. As few would think this to have cut in purchase and people would compel to opt for healthier options but this would deter only the lower class to refrain from sugary stuffs. The higher and middle class would still continue buying to satisfy their taste bud. Secondly, a section of society believes running government campaign to showcase the repercussions of sweet items such as chocolates, cakes, pastries and sweets should help; but, people consuming sweets actually are aware of its health hazards still consume it for taste. Therefore, government steps do not help much to stop the population from abstaining sugars in their daily consumption.

The main reason I believe the sugar control can be done at personal level is due to the fact that self-discipline and control plays a major role in forming any habit. If a person decides himself to abandon the unhealthiest foodstuffs then no other help is required to switch him to healthier meals. Thus, self-determination has power to have control on sugar control; thereby, if every person thinks for his sugar consumption then entire country can be healthier and happier. For example, although the sweets and chocolates are sold in shops, if a person is not tempted to eat it than definitely he will not buy.

To sum up, I pen down saying that despite government efforts to control sugar usage by imposing tax and levies on sugar sales or running the awareness campaign, it will not help the person if he is not determined to stop on over consumption of sugar. Thus, the self-control is the best way to check sugar intake on daily basis.