In the past, sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break the world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

In the era of globalization, whether having the motivation to win and break world records or dreaming for prize currency and being celebrities to become champions in sports competitions has been a hotly-debatable issue in many parts of the world. While many people believe that win-awards to the results has no negative impacts on champions, I maintain that it can contribute to some downsides to people in several ways. The following paragraphs shall outline the main supporting points for my perspective.

In terms of the messages of this issue are sent to young people, firstly, it illustrates the negative trend in the attitude of many young people by pointing out the misleading of the main goal whenever taking part in any competition. In the past, people thought that only becoming a winner and breaking world records could worth the effort, if not, they were willing to pay a greater deal of effort until achieving this aim. Nevertheless, the youngster in contemporary society, they always express a desire to get more prize money and broaden their images through sports competitions. They seem there is no need to outperform their rivals because money and reputation are the only two things they dream to.

Turning to the consequences which can stem from this misleading to young people, it is noticeable that it can lead to the decline in the effort, as well as furthering their career paths related to sports. For example, if competitors can achieve the expected amount of money, they will give up this competition and feel satisfied with this award. In addition, people have no motivation to enhance the level of knowledge and expertise in sports skills and cannot become the best version of themselves. They can avoid falling behind each other unless they are industrious and never fed up with obstacles.

To sum up, the lack of knowledge about the true purpose of rivalry can result in consecutive failures throughout one’s life. I suggest that the government should place more importance on people’s attitudes than on the award-winning.