People are sleeping less than in the past. Why do people do it? What are the effects of this?

It is said that, to keep up an active life-style an adult needs a proper sleep of at least eight hours. In this modern era of running behind the money, most of us are not having adequate amount of sleep which is leading to some catastrophic results. The plausible reason for this trend is hectic schedule and degrading health conditions.

One of the prime causative factor for this phenomenon is working for long times. As human's are gravitating towards money, the work culture is changed. Most of the offices are working round the clock and sometimes people tend to work for 18 hours, which helps them to get more overtime money. However, in the past people used prefer more job satisfaction than money, so they could have a good work-life balance as a result they have ample time to have a good rest. In this contemporary era people are doing multi-tasking to earn some disposable income. Whereas, in past people used to work in a single job for a long time or may be whole life which makes them happy. These are the possible reason for people having less sleep in today's generation.

This trend has several negative impacts both personally and socially. On the top, having inadequate sleep will have some detrimental implications on human’s health. They will become easily sick and the metabolism rate in the human body will be decreased, as a result the antioxidants will not work properly. So people will be easily affected with flu and virus. This can be seen in recent article in Times Now that there is an increase in number of people who are working at customer support industry are often falling ill, by the government official record it says that it has been increased by 17 % from last year in Bangalore. Finally, people working for longer hours will be less active, therefore, productivity of these people will be less. As a consequence there will be complications in having a good relation socially and personally. Thus, having less amount of sleep will cause the above mentioned implications

All things considered, working for long hours and doing multiple jobs are the main reasons for less sleeping as a result health will be deprived and the productivity of the person will be decreased. People should be self aware on the importance of sleep