People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

It is a trend these days that many people prefer attending educational institutes for higher studies for pursuing varied reasons. Technology is changing at an alarming rate. In that light, it has become pertinent for many to up-skill their knowledge and technical expertise. To discuss this further, I have elaborated my views in following paragraphs.

Firstly, the formal education taught in past generation was too academic and non-practical in nature. Jobs of today didn’t evolve when we were studying. With advent of super technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Bitcoin, block chain and so on and so forth, it is clear, for people who want to survive the demanding and ever-changing job to learn new skills. Educational Institution provides you a structured and syllabus based learning. This enables a candidate to focus his energy in step by step approach. Furthermore, each employer recognises skills achieved or learned via an academic accolade. So a candidate from credible institutes gets preference over others.

Secondly, colleges enable meeting new people from different walks of life and cultures. For example, many mid managerial staff go back to school. They have learnt certain skill and need to brush up certain skills and, hone fresh perspective to same age-old problems. Further, it provides a good platform to form long-lasting network of associates, with whom you could align your common goals in life. Colleges provides you group learning and, helps you assess where do you stand in terms of knowledge and helps, you to put extra effort to learn that task.

In all, my take on the subject on hand is that people, who get an opportunity to attend colleges get avenues to be polish their aptitude and make lifelong friends.