People sleep less than before in many countries. Why people sleep less? What effect does it have individually and in society?

In this modern world, the lifestyles of people all over the world have been altered drastically. One of the several changes, which is giving rise to many serious concerns is the reduction in the amount of sleep that people take. While, there are several reasons accountable for this, its effects are profoundly detrimental on both, the society and the individuals.

To begin with, one of the major aspects that force people to compromise with their sleep is the pressure to perform better and to win the competition over others. This is true for all those individuals who want to prove their excellence in their particular academic domains and also for those who want to over-take other fellow workers at their respective workplaces and grab the opportunity to make progress. This phenomenon is ubiquitous because the level of competition in every field has crossed beyond a certain acceptable level and to survive that many have to compromise with the time, when they are supposed to take rest.

Apart from these reasons which are success-oriented, there are other reasons also which actually waste the time of individuals. With the advent of technology, smartphones have reached in the pockets of individuals, belonging to any socio-economic background. There are many activities that can be performed on this gadget with an excuse that they are stress-busting. Playing games online, watching live-streaming videos, reading books etcetera, can be named as a few instances. People are usually busy throughout the day-time and the best time they find to do these things is the night-time after taking dinner. They usually get driven by this and waste a great deal of their precious time which they could utilize to tranquilize their minds.

Moving further, undoubtedly this phenomenon is affecting individuals very negatively. By sleeping-less, body and mind does not get adequate rest and the individuals in such a condition become very irritable. It reduces the activeness of an individual who feels sluggish and sleepy during the day-time. It has also disturbed the circadian rhythm of many individuals, and people, suffering from sleeplessness and increasing in number. Moreover, the places in the society which should be lively in the early hours of the day, like parks and stadiums, are visited by only a handful of people because most of them fail to wake up early to cherish the fresh moments of the day.

To conclude, it can be said, without any denial, that although there are several factors stealing the sleep away from individuals, who have succumbed either to the desire to succeed or to get entertained, those who are doing these, get badly impacted. Therefore, people should take sound sleep to ensure their wellbeing.