People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Some people think that criminals should be sentenced to long term imprisonment as a measure to reduce the crime rates in the society, whereas others believe that there are many alternative ways to deal with them which would be more feasible in the long run. I believe depending upon the severity of the crime, sentences should be handed out. In the following paragraphs I will discuss both the views and state my opinion.

On the one hand, people believe that sentencing criminals to long term prison confinement will help to decrease the crime rate. When imprisoned those who are not professional criminals or have simply started to head towards the crime world may reflect on their action and mend their ways and therefore wouldn’t need to remain in prison for a long time. On the contrary, the ones that have been in the field, for instance, gang leaders, drug suppliers or murders for a long time should be sentenced to lifetime imprisonment and should be monitored strictly so that they cannot continue to operate from within.

On the other hand, several alternative measures can be adopted to reach the goal. Firstly, the government could appoint agencies to find out the reason on how the person became a criminal. Secondly, these petty criminals could be given jobs like police or field agents as they would be the best person to detect and catch similar people thereby reducing the crime rates. For example, there was a show that demonstrated how cops took help from a criminal to catch other criminals thereby giving the latter a free life as well as a secure job as an undercover agent.

To sum up, I believe that sentences should be delivered based on the severity of the crime and adopting alternative methods like giving jobs may further aid in reduction of crimes in the society.