The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Western countries have witnessed an increase in obesity in children by 20% in past 10 years. The main cause for this rising trend is growing prevalence of junk food in the diet of young children. this would lead to unhealthy and lazy population. We have further substantiated causes and effects in detail in following paragraphs.

As cited earlier, the critical cause of the growth in the count of overweight children in society is due to unhealthy eating habits. due to proliferation and mass marketing by fast food companies, parents have introduced these types foodstuff in diets of their children. it’s alluring for kids as the food they offer taste much yummier than the home cooked food. As parents, being the decision maker find easier ways to feed their fussy kids. Evidently, these fast food companies as a marketing gimmick include toys for selling their foodstuff to kids. For example, to sell oily burgers and fries McDonald bundles these food items along with a toy making it more appealing for kids and parents to buy. these days, kids are exposed to outdoor activities much lesser compared to previous generation due increasing crimes rates like abduction for ransom. kids are insulated at homes and hence, do not play in any rigorous activities like tag which help them increase their metabolism and thus, improve their health.

As discussed, the effects above, the cause to them are enumerated below. The obese kids lead to lazy and unhealthy citizens. unhealthy eating habits and no exercise leads to increase levels of cholesterols and heart diseases. People frequently visit medical practitioners to seek help and / or continue to be depressed due to lethargic lifestyle. further, number of young generation dying due sluggish way of living has increased manifolds.

it is hence advisable to incorporate workout and balance nutritious diet helps to nourish mind and body. The target audience to tomorrow’s citizen are children. Imbibing healthy habits in kids today will lead to healthy future genx.