The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to sedentary lifestyle and wrong choice of food, people are becoming more obese and thus, giving an invitation to various diseases. It is necessary to overcome health issues before they attack on the body system and make the situation worst. I don't agree with the point that government funding has any role to play in this.

To begin with, it is a duty of an individual to take care of their own health in a way which doesn't lead them to consult a doctor now and then. Some serious problems include BP, diabetes, cholesterol, improper heart function, cancer and many more need immediate medical attention. Do we ever think what causes to these reach up to such an extent? I believe, we don't. For example, during weekends, it has become a household trend to order a variety of cuisine, mostly. After hectic work schedule throughout the week and having an outside food, we forget to burn the calories generated and again, we start preparing for another week. Result? Severe complications and at the end, use of heavy dose medicines.

On the other side, it is always not possible for each person to afford costliest treatments. In certain cases, the disease may not always be related to lifestyle, it might be hereditary. Also, an economic status of such humans may not be able to pay exorbitant fees of good doctors, old people in particular. In this type of scenario, government funding comes in to the picture. It will be a boon for them and a great relief to much extent.

To conclude, I would like to say in overall, to avoid such consequences, people should follow an old proverb "prevention is better than cure" very seriously. Though, government can provide an adequate budget for preventive measures.