Raising the price of the oil will solve the world's environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying to the fact that the burning of fossil fuel leads to the environmental issues. A school of thought believes, increasing the crude oil price should resolve this matter as people would drop its usage due to high cost. However, I strongly disagree with the statement, believing that people cannot limit their needs due to price. Although expensive, they will continue to consume it until they have an alternate option to oil.

To begin with, the crude oil is needed in vehicles and the people need to purchase it for fueling their motors and bike for their daily transport. Despite the hefty price, it is obvious that one cannot stop commuting; therefore, he will buy it and use it. Consequently, every single use of petrol or diesel would contribute to environmental degradation and the environmental problem cannot be controlled in spite of the increase in price. For instance, every year the government raises the fuel price but still the number of vehicles in the city continue to increase and the environmental degradation never stops.

The people are habituated with the convenience of using non-renewable sources of energy and they would not ban automobiles and machines running on these sources. Admittedly, this can only be possible if the alternative option is discovered. Thus, environmental hazards cannot alleviate with price-rise but would surely prove beneficial with the eco-friendly option of energy. A very good example of this is compressed natural gas engines which have gained popularity due to its eco-friendly nature.

On the contrary, it may happen that people may reduce the use of vehicles and this, in turn, would improve the environmental conditions. In other ways, people would not frequently use cars and may prefer walking or bicycling for shorter distances. Hence, according to some people, the environment can be benefitted to some extent.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that oil rates do not help in keeping the environment clean. Inventing the creative solutions, which can be used as an alternative option can aid in amending the environment as well as keeping it pure and safe for future generation.