Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any

Watching television or reading novels in free time has become a contentious topic in recent times. Majority of people argue that many brain fuctions develop with reading; however, watching television makes them lazy. I completely agree with this sentiment and this essay will examine it.

First of all, reading has countless advantages on human health. One of the primary benefit is that many existential body functions continue work properly, since brain which is vitally important organ arranges a plethora of body fuctions such as hormone level, hunger and sleepness. If people read newsletters and novels at least an hour daily, they will stay healtier in the near future. For instance, a study by World Health Organisation in 2018 revealed that Japanese who have the highest longevity in the world read two hundreds factual books in average per year. It is believed that it is good for not only mental health but also psychological health.

Secondly, watching television has detrimental effects on human. To begin with, it does not require any efforts as it provides ready packed information. Many viewers, for example, feel tired when they watched it longer than three hours given the fact that brain stops working during this time, and thus tiredness is risen. Further and more importantly, it prevents people especially children develop creative thinking. To illustrate, a report from University of Sea in 2017 reported that 80% of toddlers watch cartoons frequently consequently they are not able to draw and play as they are supposed to do.

By way of conclusion, while reading makes people have a healty life, watching television prevents fatal organs work properly, and thus I would strongly contend that people should not watch television frequently instead they should read magazines and novels to stay healthy.