The reason that most individuals are in debit is due to the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual’s ability to pay back their debits.

To what extent do you agree with this?

In modern age, people prefer to use non-conventional payment methods such as internet banking, cards and other more. Even government also promote people to avoid cash payment and use cards & others method for financial transactions. It is believed that use of credit card cause individuals in debt situation. I shall explain the reason for this and measures, a bank may take while issuing a credit card

Use of credit card gives so many facilities to individual. First and foremost is the liberty to spend the money without even having it. It is generally seen that credit card holder tends to spend more money than non- credit card holder because money is made available in plastic card and does not restrict to use it. Furthermore, credit card company also provide long term credit facility which motivates consumer to buy without consideration and sometimes in emotions they buy the things which are not actually required at that point. For instance, my brother’s office is just 500 meter away and company ply the buses regularly but he bought the card using credit card and put the rationale that it is on easy credit and money to be paid later.

Such credit facilities make people reckless and they enter in debt cycle. In order to protect the bank money and people to go through stress of repayment, it is highly advisable to bank to put measures in place. The primary measure which can be taken is to check the people earning and expenditure trend as it gives the fair idea about people’s attitude towards use of money. Another important point to check is credit history of individual which may give right idea whether people make the return on time or not.

To conclude, use of credit cards certainly spiked the consumer buying and in some cases, people buy in irresponsible manner and do not pay on time or become bankrupt in few cases. Bank should take above given precautions while issuing credit cards.