The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

Indisputably, Hong Kong, Singapore and Taiwan, to name just a three examples, are facing deteriorated air quality. There are multifarious reasons behind and one of which regards the increased number of private car on road. Therefore, it is the priority task for government to reduce the number of private car. In this essay, we would like to discuss the feasible solution to tackle the issue.

Extending public transport system into different places is the first and foremost solution to reduce the number of private car. Looking back the necessity of owning a private car, it is convenient for them to go everywhere. If the public transport system can cover the places they want and can go as convenient as they own the car, their driving force would be faded out and, finally, give up their own car, reducing number of car on road.

Another suggestive solution is to introduce monetary measurement, ranging from tax such as new car registration tax to penalty of forfeit such as pollutant emission fine, to control the increase of number of private car. As financial burden added on car owner increases, so do the number of private car fall. This solution can not only control the car grow, the additional fund received from tax but also can use to improve the public transport system as mentioned in above paragraph.

To conclude, it is inarguable that the pollutant emitted from car cause a decline of the air quality. Government should take any necessary action to at least mitigate the problem. If we leave it aside and eventually let the problem worse, our place may become uninhabitable.