Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, increasing rate of competition has given birth to many challenges to acquire jobs available in the market. It is asserted by some people that universities should focus on professional skillful subjects, as it increase the probability of getting employment, instead of teaching theoretical courses related to arts, especially considering the hefty amount of fee being paid to colleges. I agree with this notion and intend to discuss my views in subsequent paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is believed that subjects related to history, philosophy, and heritage are important to save culture and tradition of a country. In fact, every youngster should be aware of the history of their ancestors and who they are. To illustrate an example, many historical renowned persons such as Hercules, Alexender and Ashoka, can be source of inspiration for the children. As a result, learning history gives continuous motivation to young brigade to put their efforts towards to do good in society to preserve history and heritage of their native place. However, such knowledge can be gained through internet and available at free of cost or can be taught in high school, so there is no need to pay massive amount of financial funds to universities.

On the other hand, I endorse the idea of focusing on practical subjects in higher studies. The prominent reason is that people invest a lot of money in tertiary education to acquired skills which are job oriented and in demand as per market. As a matter of fact, science, technology, computers and automobile industry have much more scope to get jobs as compare to subjects related to arts. For instance, a recent survey conducted by an American company states that 80% employment opportunities available in world required professional expertise related to computers, automation, internet and automobile industry. Thus, learning such agile, active and cutting edge technologies not only enhance the chances of acquiring esteemed jobs, but also helps young brigade to earn name and fame through innovations. In contrast, if young ones learn theoretical subjects related to arts, it will reduce their scope of employment. Consequently, it would be wastage of hard-earned money of their parents in acquiring a knowledge which is not in demand by multinational organizations.

In conclusion, although it is important to learn subjects related to arts, yet practical subjects are the 'need of the hour' in terms of grasping esteemed job positions, to be famous through innovative methodologies and do the best use of parent`s monetary funds.