The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that education is indispensible for children to accommodate with the fast paced of modern life. To a certain extent I disagree with the idea that educational curriculum should leave the arts subjects such as painting and music. However, I accept that they need to acknowledge practical subjects such as information technology.

Learning information technology in the school’s education can bring a new advancement for a country. It allows children to broaden their knowledge about the technology tools such as computer which could encourage them to research and developing in this sector. For example, in Finland, children learn software developing in school which helps to invent convenient computer application for them. This could be a progress for a country to advance in the contemporary world. Therefore, studying information technology is a way to organize young learners for the developed world.

However, I would argue that painting and music should not be eliminated from the syllabus to increase children’s focus on the above mentioned subject. Excluding these subjects can effect on both cultures and economy of a country. This could be a deterrent for the children to practice their traditional music which keep them unaware about their cultures. Hence, they might forget own cultural music and tend to adopt other cultures which pose a significant cultural threat for a country. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh 20% young people are naive about their folk music because they have not practice it in school. Similarly, we would have suffered for the need of artists in paintings, and this could prohibit us to arrange any international exhibitions .As a result, there are few foreign visitors will be interested to travel the country, and losing the income from this sector.

In conclusion, though learning scientific subjects at school poses essential competency for the children to manage the modern world, I believe that paintings and music should not be removed from the school curriculum for these subjects.