Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes – the government or the people who build the homes?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

“Safety is better than cure” which owns responsible by various stakeholders it includes the government and the people during the construction of a house. It is important to plan well keep-in-mind about the natural calamities.

It is a government responsibility to inspect the blueprint of the construction from a various angle before approving it. However, it is people the responsibility to abide by the rule. In other words, the Soil inspection team works for the government to know better than the people about the capability of the soil to stand strong against the earthquake. They might have done diligence soil tests before releasing the report. It is the sole responsibility of the people to abid accordingly. For example, if the approval is for building a two-story apartment with sufficient side paths then it should be constructed accordingly. Strange it might seem, but it is a fact, that due to the increased corruption by the promotors construction of the building is slightly different than the approved plan.

In the recent news, Shanhomes building located in the west part of London has faced twenty casualties. Further to the investigation, it was pointed as a poor construction although it is only two years old. The building did not contain any government authorized standards such as rain-water-harvest to channel out the water, Foundation should be from fifty meters deep on the earth, six pillar support than four-pillar support. Because of this, it happened to lose many lives.

In summary, it is not only government responsibility to provoke various building rules but it is also responsible for people to cooperate with the safety measures and standards introduced by the government