Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that school’s curriculum should affiliate with the learning skills rather than traditional subjects because students can use them on future career. To a certain extent, I agree with the idea that the school should teach them only required job skills. However, I also think that they need to acknowledge traditional subjects such as history.

Excluding the traditional subjects such as history from education can be both extinctive and threat for obsolete cultures of a nation. This could deter young learners in schools from studying about their traditions and histories of a society. Hence, they will have a fewer knowledge about their cultures which is a threat of disappearing their traditions and tending to adapt other cultures as well as forget their social identity. A recent BBC documentary shows that In Africa, 20% of community traditions are in extinction due to lack of practicing their history. Therefore, enjoying history in education is another way to keep our customs.

However, I would argue that learning professional skills in a school can more useful than traditional subjects for a society. Achieving the skills such as computer helps students to get a better job after completion of their courses. Nowadays, employers are looking for not only educational degree but also related skills at recruiting time. For Example, most companies generate their office records in computers. If a production officer in a factory wants to record his daily fabrication reports, definitely he has to skillful in a computer. Therefore, teaching related job skills in educational institution enhance the ability of students to succeed in a job competition market.

In conclusion, It seems to me that educational curriculum should be based on profession oriented rather than spending time on conventional subjects.