Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Not only people who smoke suffer from many deadly diseases, but the people surround also get impacted from that smoke. This is the reason that many people say that smoking should be banned on public places. I am in compete accord with this statement and believe that if government is not able to persuade people to leave smoking habit then at least they should be prohibited on public places.

To begin, smoking is a dangerously bad habit which leads to number of lethal diseases like lung cancer, mouth cancer and many more. The chemicals in tobacco damage airways of lungs, blood cells and alo weaken the immune system towards infections. Its impact is not visible overnight, but with passage of time it causes serious harm for person’s health and in long run it can make person suffer tremendously from the pain it may give.

Furthermore, it has been universally proved that passive smoking is more dangerous and can cause more harm to the person’s health. In this way, the people who do not smoke but because they inhale smoke owing to someone smoking nearby get affected by it. For example, one of my friend is suffering from lung cancer, although he never did smoking. This is because of his father, who is habitual to smoke in their house every day. Owing to harmful impact on other people, smoking should be banned on public places and there should be separate places for smokers to smoke. This problem has been realized by many organizations like IT companies as they offer separate smoking area to their employees who smoke, so that other employees will not suffer.

To conclude, smoking is a habit which is really difficult to leave, hence, government should ensure that owing to smokers, at least general public should not be affected adversely. Hence, smoking on public places should be prohibited and any guilty should be dealt with iron hands.