Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantageous and disadvantageous of solar energy?

In today’s technologically advanced world, where people around the globe are switching towards renewable sources of energy such as solar panels for their domestic usages from traditional fossil fuels based energy. There are both pros and cons for such a development. In this essay, I shall enlist various factors behind this trend followed by presenting both its positives and negatives.

Firstly, one of the fundamental reasons behind moving to solar energy is the fact that it is renewable form of energy which implies that once installed it can be used forever. For example, these days in India it is very common trend of installing a solar panel on terrace of every building directly facing the sun. As a result, they keep using the natural form of energy for various household needs. Secondly, such a technology proves to be an excellent means of providing continues energy in the form of electricity. Especially, in countries like India, Pakistan, and Africa where there are continues power outages from the public authorities. Therefore, having one’s own energy source makes him/her independent. For instance, in India due to shortage in energy supplies, the government has set a fixed power outage on each day during which the citizenry switch to personal solar powered energy.

On the other hand, solar energy provides plethora of benefits to the society such as decreasing pollution levels, since it is pollution-less way of energy production. Additionally, it saves enormous amounts of money as it is onetime setup and is used for lifetime. Furthermore, switching to renewable sources of energy helps government to reduce spending on producing energy from fossil fuels. Therefore, money saved can be better utilized for other important causes. Although, it has numerous benefits, it does have certain shortcomings such as the cost of initial setup is very high and is not affordable by lower and lower-middle class citizenry. Moreover, the solar panels technology is not fully tested on large scale and is not completely reliable as of today. However, in future they will definitely be supplanting other means of energy.

To conclude, with the unprecedented levels of pollution, alongside depleting natural sources of energy, it is high time for nations to switch to cleaner, infinite, and natural means of energy for which solar energy is the first option with myriad of benefits.