Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantageous and disadvantageous of solar energy?

Solar power as a source of domestic household energy is becoming more desirable because many individuals and governments are concerned that burning fossil fuels adds carbon to the atmosphere and thus accelerates global warming and climate change. Other feels that nuclear power is potentially unsafe, and do not like its associated pollution from radioactive waste. Therefore, man researchers and consumers have looked at alternative sources of energy and have found that solar power has many benefits and few drawbacks.

The main advantage of solar energy is that after the initial installation, it is entirely free and renewable, and there are no extra costs involved in producing the energy. Solar energy is silent and environmentally friendly as well – it does not destroy or poison the eco-system. This is because the raw material; sunshine, does not need to be extracted or refined, so there are no pollutants or toxic residue produced. Another major advantage is that it produced where it is needed so there is no energy wasted on transport. This decentralization of the power source not only leads to savings on transmission, but also to more self-reliant communities – the ability to produce their own power is a significant advantage for remote populations.

There are also employment opportunities in the design and development, manufacture, installation and maintenance of the new technology for solar panels, which are consequently becoming less expensive, more available and much more efficient.

The greatest drawback of solar power is that it is totally reliant on sunlight, which is not always constant. In fact, there are some regions where it may not be predictable, as it does not work at night. Power from daytime sunshine must be stored in large batteries. In addition, the panels tend to be big and cumbersome. A major drawback for some is that the initial purchase and installation of the equipment is costly.

In my view, the benefits of a clean, quiet renewable, eco-friendly source of energy far outweigh the drawbacks, provided that there is sufficient sunlight available to make this source of power feasible.