In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion about this?

Most areas in US have restrictions that adolescents should be permitted to leave their homes at night only if they are accompanied by an elder person. I, personally agree with the viewpoint as this will not only ensure the safety of the children but also keep them away from wrong influences.

With changing times it has become essential that teenagers are vulnerable to certain situations which can be avoided when guided by seniors. Recently, an inflation of crime rates such as mugging, rapes, robbery, murder, etc has been observed. In situations like this, it is unlikely that these adolescents know how to deal with them. Therefore, it is essential that they are guided by adults, who have better knowledge and sound consciousness. This will also allow guardians to be free from anxiety about their children.

Furthermore, these young people may easily be misleaded when allowed to go out alone, by their peers or persons of similar age group. For instance, when a teenager is challenged to do a task they find it imperative to stand up to it to prove they are fearless and dynamic. But they do not assess the dangers associated with it, which may prove to be life staking. Being with an adult means, these peers will not get carried away in the pursuit of adventure.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that teenagers must be allowed to go out at night if there are accompanied by a senior person who can protect them as well as keep them safe from their dangerous tasks often brought about by similar aged teenagers.