In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want.
To what extent should children have to follow rules?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.
There is strictness in parts of the world about Children behaviour while in some countries they give them
freedom to do anything of their choice. In my opinion, children need to be taught the social ethics politely
rather than forcing them to behave in certain ways.
Peolple in developing countries face the issue such as lack of moral values, hence parents believe that they need
to teach childen about morality by developing strict rules for them. Strict parents argue that rules need
to be set for children in order to learn the etiquettes of living a life. It is true that children can be
moulded in any way parents want them to, depending how effective are their methods.
Having strict rules about ethics at a young age develops sense of responsibilty toward others, which becomes
part of their personality and contributes in becoming a responsible citizen. The other benefit is that rules
brings discipline in children life, which is a prerequisite to excel in any career, they want to pursue.
Following set of rules set by elders hinders the ability of children to grow mentally. Although it makes them
obedient but at the same time it affects their ability of reasoning. Critical thinking is the basic
requirement of mental growth which defines the success of any person.
In conclusion, it is necessary for children to learn ethics but is not advisable at the cost of critical thinking.