In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The proportion of people with ill-health from consumption of convenience foods is fast rising in many nations. To stem the tide, some intellectuals recommend that government should enforce more tariff on unhealthy foods. I agree with this suggestion and will justify my view in the subsequent paragraphs.

An effective starting point will be increasing the tax on junk foods to indirectly cut down people's hunger for these type of foods. In other words, the cost will be beyond the reach of many people's purses making everybody settle for healthier and cheaper alternatives. To illustrate, the Mumbai government imposed a heavier tax on fast-food restaurants to limit the consumption of fats and sugars. Within a few years, the number of people with obesity and diabetes fell in geometric proportions. If this step is taken, people will stop eating junks and the health-related complications fall considerably.

From another perspective, if the government raise the tax on fast-foods, eateries will have to adjust their menu to include low-fat food options for the consumers. Besides, people will benefit from tax-free, low-calorie diets. It will be a win-win situation for the fast-food joints as they will pay little or no tax on health-friendly foodstuffs while attracting an increased number of customers. This simple but effective measure is currently working wonders in India as the incidence of obesity and hypertension has reduced remarkably.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the imposition of a higher tariff on convenience foods because not only will it make people imbibe healthy food-eating culture, it will also aid the survival of the restaurants known for healthy foods.