In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food To what extent do you agree or disagree with

It is certainly true that the eating habits of people have been significantly changed over the past few years. In many countries, people are frequently intaking junk foods which has negatively impacted their health. Therefore, while many people claim that the government should increase the taxes on restaurant foods, I believe that it will not be a more effective way than other solutions to curb the issue.

First of all, why people argue that imposing the higher taxes will benefit because It is more likely that due to adding extra load on their budgets, people especially young children will avoid having pizzas and burgers. Consequently, that would be more effective to control the spike of digestion system related issues. Furthermore, the restaurants will be indirectly enforced to offer healthy and nutritious foods at a cheaper rate. Also, it will help promote home cooking as well.

However, there are many other ways to control this growing menace rather than increasing tax prices because mostly wealthy people are very often having these types of food and making food costly would not make much difference for them. Therefore, spreading awareness about the health issues caused by outside food will be more effective than the proposed suggestion. In New Zealand, food diet awareness campaigns significantly helped them to deteriorate this issue.

Secondly, the other reason is the cost effective feature of such foods over the other healthy food options. In addition, they are ready to eat or prepared in minutes. Hence, making healthy and nutritious food items cheaper than such types of foods will effectively tackle this issue.

To conclude, I pen down by writing that rather than imposing more taxes on fast food, reducing prices of healthy food items and increasing their availability and awareness campaigns will be more helpful to overcome the issue and to improve their health.