In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.Discuss both systems.

A topic like this has been debatable for decades. It reminds me of the saying " Marriage is not just a porridge that you spill out if it's too hot". It is a huge decision and requires a lot of thought and insight. It can change the whole life of an individual whether it be a man or a woman.

When marriages are arranged by the parents, they tend to consider all aspects rather than just one or two. Their experience in life comes into play and hence the opposite partner, better suited with the environment of the house is chosen. This way disputes not only with the spouse but also other family members are less and the marriage tends to last longer.

While, On the other hand, when people choose their own marriage they ensure that they are compatible with each other. Understanding and love are like the weights in a weighing scale. It cannot be stable if not equal. For instance, a recent survey in Mumbai has shown that the longer people knew each other before marriage, the less they fought after. Moreover, Parents may not completely be aware of the likes and dislikes of their child, may have an orthodox opinion and hence may end up selecting an incompatible partner. The chances are less if the person himself selects his spouse.

Therefore, I personally feel, Marriage is nothing but an amalgamation of love, compromise, trust and care. Whatever may be the case, it should be a happy one. And, In my opinion, it turns out to be a happy one if people choose their own partners.