Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

According to some linguistics, begin studying a foreign language at primary school is better for kids than doing it in secondary or higher school. Although this issue has caused some conflict, its advantages still outweigh the disadvantages.

On one side, letting the child learn a language too early does have some detrimental effect. Firstly, primary students are still learning their mother languages. Being taught another language may cause confusion. As a result, none of those languages are studied in advance. Secondly, not all kids want to get this knowledge. If they are forced to study what they don’t want, they will refuse and start to hate it. Around me, there are so many children, whose parents are English teachers, end up remember nothing after having stressful English lessons with their family.

On another side, students can have many benefits if they start communicating by another language early. First and foremost, younger people tend to acquire faster and more efficiently than older. It is because their brains are growing so that they are able to remember things quickly. The next advantage of being young is that kids don’t get distracted. The older you become, the busier you are. As a high school student, I wish I had learned English sooner. At the moment, I literally don’t have much time for foreign languages because of schoolwork. Furthermore, a young one language’s approach is funnier and somehow relaxing, since they don’t need it for work or scholarship. Children have a long time to acquire the skill slowly and strongly.

Overall, despite having some disadvantages, it is greater for students to learn foreign languages at primary school rather than secondary school due to its huge advantages.