Some industry leaders believe that children should learn computer programming in primary school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With advent of automation at the workplace, the manual methods of doing the job are done away. As a result, few of the industry stalwarts feel that the kids should learn computer programming at primary schools. This essay considers both positive and negative aspects of including computer programming in children’s primary education.

In my perspective, children in their tender age are too agile and eager learners and the focus of formative year’s education is to make the child acquire societal skills like language, math, science geography and history, which will help them to understand how the world has evolved and how it generally functions. Computer programming needs a specialized skills and advanced analytical mindset, which would be too early for a young child to grasp and demonstrate at this tender age.

In my opinion, these skills can be imparted at higher grades of education, when the child is much more matured.

On the other hand, with wide scale advancement in technology, every industry and corporate houses has integrated computer programming in their work system. Of course, if a particular ability is taught early on, a child is better prepared at the later stage of his life. Is the purpose of computer programming to ease our life chores or to deprive us of basic human learning and behave like robots? We want better lifestyles and help in our daily chores and hence, the basic material of computer programming should be taught at schools at higher standards, where the child’s mind is more receptive of purpose of the course.

To sum up, I would argue that although, obtaining knowledge of computer programming is critical for better future of civilization, it is also important for human offspring to acquire skills of his basic being. The computer programming can be given when the child is in adolescent years.