Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

What is your opinion?

Critics among developed and developing countries have debated whether children should read entertaining books or educational books.

To begin with, enjoyable books are intuitively perceived as a key for children's mental growth. What this means is that entertainment books that contain colorful pictures and interesting contents can often trigger children's imagination, which can often bring positive development to their innovation. Compared to those who read educational books only, children who read story books are usually more cheerful and willing to share ideas when exploring the world. In addition, children are meant to enjoy their childhood without any pressure. Given that children will start their school life and study knowledge when they grow up, it is definitely unnecessary to force them to read educational books during their early stage of life. Therefore, children should read enjoyable sources of information when they are still young.

On the other hand, unequivocally serious books can bring many benefits to children. More specifically, it has been scientifically proven that human can absorb knowledge much more easier during childhood. By reading educational books, it is more efficient for children to learn the skills and develop logical thinking, paving a path for studying in prestigious schools which have high entry requirements. For example, children who love to read mathematics books can usually master Olympics Mathematics, which is a bonus when applying demanding academic institution. Moreover, another insight that must not be neglected, meanwhile, is the opportunity to stay with their parents. As reading educational books can sometimes be challenging, parents can take the chances to go through the serious books with them and therefore can build closer relationship with them.

In conclusion, both enjoyable and educational books play pivotal roles for children’s development. I would agree that children should alternatively read both types of books to enrich their childhood experience.