Some parents say that giving expensive gifts to a child can create bad habits in him/her. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include any relevant examples from your experience.

It is true that some parents tend to give their children pricy gifts on different occasions, while commentators critics this behavior. This essay follows the opinion that it is not an appropriate practice to give children expensive gifts and the reasons behind my logic will be provided in this essay.

Giving an expensive gift to a teenager has different adverse effects due to several reasons. Firstly, it would promote capitalist values, making children believe in materialistic considerations as their top priority. Children try to follow their parents, by following their attitude and behavior, and experts think parents should teach values such as honesty, integrity and hardworking, instead of emphasizing money by giving an expensive gift. Secondly, although children might get happy for the first time, they would expect to receive expensive stuff in the future. This would give more pressure on middle- or lower-class families, who suffer from financial problems. Also, teenagers, who usually get big expensive gifts, would also be demotivated if these gifts stopped due to the monetary problems of parents.

Admittedly, parents want the best for their family, by providing the best facilities they could afford for their children. Some parents had a harsh childhood and try to fulfill this gap for their children. However, they should consider the side-effects of this practice and consider psychologists' recommendations on the adverse consequences of this behavior.

In conclusion, while giving expensive gifts might impress children considerably in the short-term, this essay believes that its disadvantages outweigh the drawbacks in the long-term.