Some people believe that children s leisure activities must be educational otherwise they are a complete waste of time Do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience

A section of society is of the view that unless children's free-time activities teach them something, they are just a wastage of their time. I extend my full agreement to this notion and would highlight the facts supporting my view, in this essay.

To commence with, leisure time spent by children generally goes in playing games or watching TV. If these games or TV, teach them something important along with fun, the children will not only remember them easily, but will also enjoy learning lifetime lessons. It has been proven by various studies that the children, when taught with audio visuals or through interactive sessions, lay better impact on the mind of the children, in comparison to the learning they do in the regular class. Hence, the games played in free time can be educative in order to make the children learn certain skills necessary for life.

Additionally, educative leisure activities can make the children not only mentally but physically healthy also. If physical exercises are so designed that the child does not feel like learning something, he will be motivated to indulge in such activities in the future, thus, developing their mental as well as the physical health. The child develops both mentally and physically, in disguise, while playing. A recent survey conducted by the students of a University of Canada reveals that playing mind games in the leisure activities, resulted in the mental and physical development of the children in 90% of the cases.

To conclude, leisure activities, if played productively, can result in the holistic development of the children. It not only helps the child learn to utilize the time effectively, without making him realize that he is learning something.