Some people believe that extreme sports should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought by some people that extreme sports should not be allowed due high risks to the participants’ or, even, viewers’ health. To totally agree with this statement and think that such kinds of sport could be harmful for society.

To begin with, there is now definition of the extreme sports. Usually, it implies diverse competitions which content perilous conditions for participants, such as high speed, movements on the altitudes or survival in danger environment. First mention of the extreme sports I heard in the mid of 1990s on the TV channels, which have been increasing their ratings by such programs. The most popular TV show was ‘Deadly racing’ on the Euro Sport channel. It had lots of viewers, in spite of relatively high paying rate for the Euro Sport channel. Nowadays, this program is still existing and amount of viewers hasn’t fallen.

However, contemporary statistics, which have been hidden by channel owners, shows us that extreme sports frequently cause dramatic consequences. Firstly, every 20th racing has at least one injured and every 50th has one fatal outcome. There are different reasons to this, but the deaths haven’t stopped for the last twenty years of extreme racing existence and the best solution is stop these events.

Secondly, young generations, especially, teenagers are very easily motivated by such ‘tough’ guys that climb the mountains, jump from the abysses on the rope or drive racing cars reaching 300 mph. Contemporary adolescents dreaming to become like famous extreme sportsmen from the TV screen and making first attempts to repeat someone’s trick and the outcome could be also unpredictable.

Thus, I strongly believe that governments should ban all extreme sports as they are dangerous for people and, moreover, demand lots of expenditures for their realization. Our kids should be encouraged to become that kind of people, which take care about population and don’t steal budget money for the useless tricks.

My personal conclusion is that, extreme sports should be banned and this decision will significantly benefit society.