# Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valueable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, with the advent of the computer and the Internet, sharing of information has become a debatable issue. Some faction of society is advocating the idea of letting the free availability of data. Whereas, there are others who (argue against) oppose this contention. This essay, however, delves into both these aspects individually before (ere) a logical conclusion is arrived at.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that several severe problems are looming large over humanity. Every nation of the world has to work together and share knowledge, technology and information, to address these global threats such as global warming, scarcity of resources, shortage of energy and many more. For example, stubble burning is a major concern these days from air pollution point of concern, all countries of the global earth must come forward and share their knowledge so that some panacea can be derived to resolve this menace. Ergo, imposing a restriction on the free availability of information is unjustified.

On the other hand, there is another school of thought, who raises their concern against such a move. Moreover, this view is born out of the fact that some antisocial elements might use this unchecked knowledge for the destructive purpose. To cite an example, nuclear energy, which is a boon for humanity, can be applied for preparing a nuclear bomb, weapons of mass destruction. To strike the right balance between these two opposing ideas, it is wise to restrict the highly sensitive and dangerous information, whereas less sensitive data must be placed in the reach of all.

A close scrutiny of the various aspects of the subject in question leads to the contention that it is an evident fact that information is vital for the progress of humanity. But, the information in the hands of indeligent person is precarious. So, it is rational to segregate highly sensitive and confidential data from the other data, which is to be placed in the public domain.