Some people believe that no one should be allowed to continue working after age 65 However others say there should not be a limitation on age and anyone should be allowed to work regardless of their age Discuss both views and give your opinion and include

It is true that mandatory retirement age is being extended in many nations and this is causing some problems in society. Nonetheless, I disagree that such workers should be retired. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

To begin with, we have to face the reality that today we belong to a graying society and the latest demographic trends show that very soon one in four persons will be over the age of 60. Can we afford to retire such a huge population? The answer is a definite 'no'. If they don't work they are a liability on the government, as then the government has to provide pensions. But, if they work they remain independent and at the same time pay taxes.

Another reason for keeping such people working is that they have years of experience, which can go waste if they retire early. No doubt, young people are more energetic and work more enthusiastically, but the older employees know the ins and outs of the company. Someone has rightly said that a new broom sweeps clear but an old broom knows the corners'. What is more, these employees also do not do job-hopping and are more

loyal to the company they work for. They are also prepared to work for less, which is ultimately beneficial to the

company or organisation they work for.

Those who wish to see them retired soon, have the problem of unemployed youth in their mind. Undoubtedly, youth unemployment also is a big problem as it leads to violence and crime in the society. The young people are very energetic and if this energy is not channelized in the right direction then they can go astray and cause problems. Job openings should be created for them in some way or the other. However, if the elderly are retired earlier, we shall be adding more burden on these young shoulders to support a burgeoning dependent population.

To sum up, retiring people above 60 would be unwise and unpractical decision, considering the changing demographic trends towards an ageing society.