Some people believe that people who have been in prison become good citizens later. It is often argued that these people are the best to guide teenagers about committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Prisoners are the people who have experienced the tough consequences certain actions can lead to. Some people argue that these people know the best and could help teenagers from not taking any dramatic step in their lives. In my opinion, if a person has truly evolved after spending life in prison, surely they can have a great impact on other people lives.

Teenage years are the ones in which a person is susceptible to lot of things and with an increased crime rate committed by teenagers, there are several reasons for criminals to help individuals. Firstly, a person who has been in the prison can explain in a better and deeper way the consequences one could have to face for wrong actions. They have examples and more importantly, they understand the other individual better as at some point, they can inter relate. Secondly, it is easier for them to judge the other person. So a prisoner can very easily predict the kind of trouble a teenager is having and under what circumstances can he or she take any drastic step.

However, it is not necessary that a person who has been in jail understands the consequences. It is very likely to be possible that the person has no regrets going to jail. If someone like him or her, counsels a teenagers the outcome could be more devastating than expected. Even more, it is not obvious that a person who has been in jail can influence people to be better.

In conclusion, a person who has faced the consequences of his or her actions can surely bring out change in the lives of others but it is not a compulsion. The most important thing is how well the people receive him or her and how well the person has evolved after the tenure in jail.