Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children while others feel it should be purely optional Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

It is undeniable fact that physical activities play an important role in overall development of a child. A growing number of people believe that sports should be made mandatory in schools, whereas others discord with this and feel that it should be entirely optional for students. This essay will discuss both sides and draw a suitable conclusion.

On the one hand, people with conflicting view highlight that making sports compulsory will mount up pressure on students mind if they are not willing to participate in it. Secondly, this may distract them from studies thus, it could result in poor grades. Thirdly, some sports activities have a risk of injuries so it demands continuous supervision and any negligence may turn into a disaster. Additionally, people consider it as an unimportant practice and time should be spent on studies in order to reach the zenith of success.

On the other hand, I would agree with those who assert that sports is vital and there are multifarious reasons to endorse this view. First and foremost, 'healthy mind dwells in a healthy body', likewise, physical fitness promotes good mental ability and works as a stress buster for adolescents. On the more, indulging in sports widens the horizon of offsprings and provide them with the opportunities to choose sports as a profession and bring name and fame to the country. Last but not the least, participating in sports develops many qualities in kids such as team spirit, leadership, decision making, sportsmanship, socialising, etcetera.

To recapitulate, in order to become successful in life it is important to be healthy, both physically and intellectually. If sports is added to the curriculum of schools it would set up a strong foundation for youngsters and nation as well.