Some people believe that teenagers are facing more problems in their life than they did in the past and this is because parents are spending more time at work than at home.

Do you agree or disagree?

Teenagers are exposed difficult times than their parents faced in the past and the primary reason for this problem is considered to be parents not able to spend more time with their teens.In my opinion, parents need to spend more time with them mentoring and guiding them to become responsible adults’ tomorrows.

Due westernization, nuclear families are norm of the day, where teenagers yearn to be their parents and don’t have their time and attention. Often, deserted youths are adversely diverted to immoral activities like drug addiction, depressions, crime.Growing up these teenagers are having physical changes and are also exposed to emotional ups and downs. They look up to the family as a source of emotional care and support in their difficult times.Furthermore, as a result of easy access to unfiltered adult content, youngster get immoral and adult information at a click of few buttons using technology. Parental mentoring and supervision become all the more imperative to train such adolescents to not get misguided. Supportive and close family relationships protects these children from risky behavior like alcohol and other drug use, and problems like depression.Family support and interest in what they are doing at school can boost their desire to do well academically too.

However, with rising prices and needs of the family, pressurized both the parents to stay longer hours at workplace to maintain their jobs and take up more assignments.Also, teenagers don’t like overbearing parents, which ruins harmony of the family and is source of constant conflict in the home.Sometimes, youngsters are rebellious and due to their hormonal changes undertake risky actions, for which parents cannot be held responsible.

In conclusion, mothers and fathers, in principal, do owe a primary responsibility to foster healthy relationship with their children for their mental wellbeing, albeit, they cannot be control all the actions of their young children. A well- balanced relationship, can help the teenager to be at ease with parents and have a healthy relationship with their adolescent children.