Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Over the last decade, a notable debate has been observed in worldwide over the punishment against crimes. Some believe that it should be predetermined for each type of crime. Whereas, some refute this statement and proclaims that the punishment type should be decided on a case to case basis. Both points of views will be analyzed before drawing any conclusion.

On the one hand, it is logical to believe that each type of crime has certain intensity in the eyes of people, government and Law. For which, the punishment should be predetermined. For Instance, a murderer is always subjected to capital punishment in Pakistan, which is “to be hanged till death”. Ultimately, the criminals would be scared and may consider punishment in their mind before committing such heinous crime. Resultantly, it would be easier for government and law enforcement agencies to control crime and law order situation in the country.

On the other hand, people’s expectation is always high from the justice system of any country in the world to scrutinize the exact reason and circumstances of crime before giving judgment. Furthermore, they are hundreds of criminal cases, which, can be witnessed, where, the convict either committed the crime due to injustice of police or under the exorbitant pressure of society. Obviously, for such cases the punishment cannot be fixed. For example, Pakistan is the best instance for such cases due the weaker judicial system. Moreover, there are certain crimes which are committed due to the lack of awareness, due to poverty as well as in self defense. So such crimes can never be treated in the same way.

In a nutshell, in order to curtail crimes in society, the government should fix the punishments for certain crimes so that people may rethink before committing them. Nevertheless, there has to be a mechanism to delve into the circumstances and motivation of crime in order to eradicate it from the roots.