Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

People have different views about whether fixed punishments should be given to different crimes. While there are some benefits to set up the regular punishments, I still believe that a variety of factors should be considered when deciding on the punishments.

On the one hand, the fixed punishments for crime can reduce the motivation of people to break the law. When governments set up different penalties into crimes, it can alert citizens that the misbehavior will bring consequences. This kind of regulation can force people to behave themselves and provide a safe society for us. For citizens who obey the laws set by governments, they will never be punished but protected by the laws. It can therefore be argued that punishments for each type of crime should be introduced in order to construct a stable and safe community for residents.

On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to consider the situation and the reasons of committing while setting the punishments. For example, it is unfair to punish a person who killed others because of self-defence. With regard to those people who committed in a reluctant situation, concession of penalties should be given to them so as to ensure the equality and justice in our law. By considering different factors of crime, various degrees of punishments can be given to criminals and thus remain the harmony of society.

In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage the fixed punishments in each crime, but it is seems to me that a flexible policy or concession of penalty should be given when people committed with special reasons.