Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for every type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

Discuss both points of view and express your own.

With the triumph of democracy in the XIX and XX centuries, many people who had never been given the opportunity to decide their own fate, let alone someone else’s, faced a new philosophical dilemma: “Should there be a fixed punishment for every crime, or should the details of the criminal’s personal situation be considered in every separate case?”

At first glance, a truly fair system of laws must be based on equal treatment for everyone. After all, one of the underlying principles of democracy is that “all men are created equal …” Hence, every citizen knows what kind of punishment to expect if he or she were to commit a certain crime. So, the mother of four, who robbed a bank to feed her children, will be sentenced to the same five years in jail as a corporate lawyer who embezzled government funds to be able to have a high-class illegitimate affair.

According to the other school of thought, the mother should be sentenced to less time than the lawyer, because she was acting out of desperation, in order to save her children from starvation, while he was just enjoying cheating on his wife. This point of view is in some ways more humane and tries to include the basics of common morality in the system of justice.

Even though the first school of thought is technically fairer than the second, I am a firm adherent of the latter. After all, what crime did the mother’s four children commit, for which they would be sentenced to five years time in an orphanage or forced adoption or some other such atrocity?