Some people believe that there should be no speed limit for vehicles on multi-lane highways between cities.Others believe that a speed limit on every highway is necessary for people's safety.

Ongoing debate regarding speed limit of vehicles on highways has not been settled yet. Some people think that speed restriction is not at all required while others raise the concerns about people’s safety and there by demand speed limit on major roads connecting to different cities. I shall explain both sides of arguments in this essay.

Everyone enjoys the driving on multi-lane highways, especially speed lover like a lot as it provides the opportunity to travel at higher speed than people usually drive in city lanes. People who are against the speed limit have some valid points. First of all, driving fast saves the time and people are able to cover the long distances in few hours, resulting making the car as one of the favorite option s for intercity or inter-county in some cases. Secondly, it is seen that government agency hardly care about the roads and in worst case, speeds limit restriction are exercised on patchy road. By not having such restriction on road, government agency will improve the conditions of road and people will get benefit out of it. Finally, owing to no restrictions on vehicle speed, vehicle manufactures will focus on both driver and vehicle protection as equip car with better safety system. For example, European car manufactures deploy more security and safety devise than African because people drives on inter-country highways which have no restrictions on vehicle’s speed.

However, increasing number of accidents on road gives the different view of the picture. The main reason for most of the fatal accidents is high speed as thousands of people die or badly injured and leaving the whole life and family disturbed. Furthermore, in most of the country, road infrastructure is not developed and conditions are dismal, in such scenario, if speed limit is waived off, there are likely to be higher number of serious road accidents.

To conclude, driving vehicle fast definitely reduces the travel time but there are serious implications if person loose the control or minor defect arise while driving. For better protection and safety, speed limit should be fixed on highways.