Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effect on a child. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the evolution of mankind games and entertainment have been integral part of human`s life. It is asserted by some people that if children spend time on TV and electronic games than it would be fruitful, however, others oppose this notion. This essay shall delve into both the views along with my opinion.

On the one hand, opponents of aforementioned notion claim that playing video games and watching TV would have harmful impacts on mental and physical health of children. The prominent reason for this is children are vulnerable to negative influences, thereby, addicting to such activities is quiet obvious, which further make them sluggish, lethargic and prone to health issues. For instance, it is generally seen that due to playing much computer games youngsters get weakened their eyesight at very early age. In addition to it, these activities can be distraction for studies as TV channels have great visualization and sound effects which attract children`s attention very easily. Consequently, they may find academic bookish content boring, resulting bad scores in exams.

On the other hand, my views falls inclination with the supporters who state that spending time on computer games is good for children. This is because it enhances the cognitive skills of a child. As a matter of fact, clearing different levels of games required a lot of strategy, analytical skills and brain storming, which not only sharpen their aptitude but also boost their fighting spirit to achieve goals in life. To quote an example, recent study in America concluded that if a kid spend 30 minutes a day, it improves his grasping power up to 70% in a month as compared to kid who do not involve in such games. Besides this, investing times on games a great source of entertainment which act as a stress buster for young brigade. In contrast, if children do not watch TV and play games than their life will become monotonous and dull. Moreover, TV channels such as Discovery and National Geographic have ocean of knowledge, which help young ones to broaden their horizons as well as assist them in academic studies.

In conclusion, although it may have some bad impacts by spending time TV and video games, yet benefits of these activities cannot be ignored in terms of boosting intelligence, awareness about the world and a good source of entertainment. As per my opinion, drawbacks can be overcome by judicial use of time and a right supervision on children by parents.