Some people believe that uniforms at workplaces aren’t necessary. Do you agree or disagree with it? Give your own opinion and include examples from your experience.

Nowadays, academic and professional experts have different controversial topics regarding how firms should treat their workforce, and one of these cases is uniform in the workplace; while some think the use of uniforms is an unnecessary practice and should be stopped immediately due to its adverse effects, there are critics have an opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I think mandatory uniform in the workplace is not beneficial to companies, and I will discuss my logic in this essay.

First, the uniform is not beneficial in today's economy, since every job has different requirements and responsibilities. For instance, the sales department is in direct contact with major clients and significant players, which requires salespeople to dress accordingly, while the maintenance or manufacturing department of a firm, have different priorities and requirements, which makes a unique uniform for all workforces near impossible. Furthermore, this plan had adverse effect on employee morale, since people have different tastes and interest, based on the color, size, and material; by forcing people to wear a particular cloth every day, workforces might lose their interest in the firm, and even worse, leave to a place with fewer regulations.

Admittedly, uniforms could be a measure for implementing discipline, or signaling equality in the firm to employees; In this manner, higher-ranked people would wear the same clothes as juniors, leads to a more flat structure in the firms with more direct communication and higher productivity. However, this plan seems simplistic and could not fulfill comprehensively job force's need these days.

In conclusion, while there are indeed advantages in wearing uniforms, such as discipline and consistency in a firm, it is not practical anymore. This plan has become obsolete, due to the fact that job requirements and people's taste vary within the firms.