Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary to schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning on practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Many students dislike to attend school because of the boring subjects taught in school such as history, math and geography. Indeed a majority of courses teach facts from primary school to tesiary education. Therefore, some people accuse education ministry of spending excessive time on teaching tedious facts and allocating little time on teaching practical skills. Personally, I utterly agree with this view.

Without question, education is mainly about facts. Teachers spend most of time teaching facts; while, students spend uncountable time learning these facts by memorizing. Take my senior high school for example, I learnt Chinese, math, English, Chemistry, Physic and biology during a three year education. Almost all these six subjects are about facts. The same trend happens in primary school. In university, school also teachs practical skills pertaining to specific applied field. However, more than half of courses in university are about facts. Thus, some people think students are wasting time in school learning facts.

On the other hand, schools rarely teach practical skills. For instance, an essential skill that school never teaches is interpresonal relationship. This skill is vital for communicating and cooperating with other people. The skill of writing merely composes a exterme small portion of course taught in school. From my respective of view, I think the reason why school spend more time on teaching facts than teach practical skills is because the method of learning is based on facts. In other words, the precondition of acquiring the learning method is to acqurie all the structural knowledge.

To summarize, it is ture that school spend numerous time on teaching facts. The underlying reason is to proffer knowledge for the method of self-learning, which is the ultimate goal of education.