Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education throughout its levels, from primary schools to universities, aims to provide students with all the knowledge and practical skills needed in their life. This is supposed to occur through a well balanced process between learning facts as well as practical skills.

Some people started to believe that through all the levels of education, from primary schools till universities, too much time is being spent on learning facts and not enough time on learning practical skills, which I would rather say happens to be true.

Analyzing my years in all levels of my education process, from the early beginning in primary school till secondary school, I learnt only facts in all fields and branches of science, I studied a lot of subjects, and not to mention the enormous amount of information and knowledge, however, I never had real practical sessions, I was neither taught any practical skills in life nor had any practical sessions in different fields, I was only memorizing my classes, doing my homework and tried to pass my final exams.

After finishing high school, and entering faculty of dentistry, I thought things would be different, however, I was shocked to know that the first two years were meant to be purely academic studies without any real dental practicing. They were followed by three years with some practical sessions, but they were not enough to well prepare us to be real life dentists, which meant that after graduation, I had to apply for private practical courses, to gain the proper skills and experience needed in a dental clinic, specially when it comes to the art of dealing with patients in a perfect attitude.

So based on my own experience, I strongly believe that too much time is being spent on learning facts only, without enough time on learning practical skills.