Some people say that all secondary and higher secondary school students should be taught how to manage money as it is an important life skill. Do you agree or disagree with this argument?

Money management is an imperative skill not only for working professionals but also for secondary students. Some people think that this skill must be developed in them. I completely agree that this skill has a myriad of benefits down the road.

Firstly, extra spending could be reduced if students understand the value of money. They often splurge inordinate amount of money on unnecessary things such as games, multicolor pens, etc as they are not aware of the efforts which their parents put to earn it. By teaching them the importance of money, this money spending on useless items could be curbed upto an extent. Take Australia for example, where teachers often teach financial management skills to the students from the primary class. As a result, they usually don’t pester their parents to buy unwanted things for them.

Secondly, secondary students can save money for their future by learning money management skill. This is because they usually depend on their parents for their higher education fees and other expenditures. By understanding the essential benefits of this skill, they can save some amount of money from their pocket money for their future needs. For example, after secondary education, many students often take admissions in the universities for their higher studies and the fees of such courses are astronomical. Many parents usually take loans to fulfill the learning dream of their children. However, this situation can be avoided by inculcating money saving skill in the students. Thus, not only can they save some money for their higher education, but they can also support their parents financially.

In conclusion, not only students can limit themselves from overspending, but they can also save some money for their future by learning about money management. Therefore, I feel that this skill must be taught to the secondary and higher secondary students.