Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the improvements of health in society by providing more sport facilities for the residents of metropolitan cities. While a group of people assert that this would not be effective, I would argue that not only increasing the number of sport facilities but also the public awareness and educating people would be beneficial for individuals.

There are a variety of reasons why I would argue that providing sporting facilities such as gyms, swimming pools and the like is not enough for increasing the public health. Firstly, governments should make awareness among people about the detrimental effects of sedentary life style and the consequences it would have on the families in the future. Secondly, they should educate children at school and add some sport courses to their curriculum which would be indispensable for their health. A salient example of this is USA that could boost children’s efficiency in the academic courses almost 60% by adding physical activities to their timetable. Finally, world health organization can broadcast some TV or Radio programs to inform people about their health condition and the popular ailments that are results of physical activities.

On the other hand, raising the number of sport facilities in societies would motivate more people to use them and the public health would impressed by this measure. Furthermore, by running sport centers in different neighborhoods families have the chance to take part in the centers with all the family members which would be fun, exciting and amusing. To support my claim I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that children of families who attend some sporting centers are more likely to follow a sport field in the future.

In conclusion, although providing sport centers and recreational facilities for the residents of mega cities would be beneficial, it would not motivate people to attend the sport classes without making awareness about health scheme in society. I believe that this is an important issue and governments should try to inform people about the consequences of lack of physical activities in their lives.