Some people say that competitive sports have advantages for people from different groups and countries, while others believe that competitive sports only create problems between people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While, nowadays, sports competitions attract a lot of attention worldwide for entertainment, there is a controversial debate regarding whether competitiveness raises more problems than its benefits. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, and I will state my perspective in the conclusion.

There are, indeed, several positive benefits for competition in sports. Firstly, not only it attracts more audience, which means more investments in games by industries and governments, but also do more talented people pursuit sports. Soccer, for example, is a worldwide interest these days, leading to attracting both funding and human capital into playing football. Secondly, competition makes local or national people closer. Despite all political or religious agendas, if individuals follow a team that represents a local place or a country, they would feel connected by having the same interest.

However, there are drawbacks to ever-rising competitiveness in sports, which makes several social issues. Competition might lead to misbehaviors among followers to undermine the opponent's players. Anti-black chanting in European soccer leagues is one of the adverse consequences of rivalry in sport, raised alarming concerns among critics. Furthermore, countries might use competition for their agendas to demonstrate their superiority. For example, in Russia, which is in the middle of the political confliction with western countries, national players, who are persuaded by the government, use drugs and doping to obtain top-level in their fields.

In conclusion, while I understand that there are few adverse effects due to raising in the competition in sports, it seems that its benefits outweigh its disadvantages, by helping to have a closer nation with a higher quality of plays.